Nessie [rigging almost done, 12/20]

Gather round’ children, I’m here to tell ye of the story of the Loch Ness monster… or Nessie, as they call 'er.

Well, no, I’ll just show you some pictures. Evidence, I say! Except I made it in Blender…
http://dustycloud.org/gfx/goodies/blender/nessie.jpg

This is my first time experimenting with rigging and, well, I really don’t know what I’m doing. The tail’s IK solver seems to work well… I kinda undid the rigging on the mouth, and I’ll fix that later. But i’m noticing that when pulling around the IK solvers for the neck and the spine that they go fly so far away from the rest of the armature. I’m not sure if that’s normal.
Here, you can play with it:
http://dustycloud.org/gfx/goodies/blender/lochness2.blend

I need criticism! Desparately! I dunno what I’m doing! :slight_smile:

I don’t know much about rigging either, but I like the model.

Thanks I__.
Yeah, I like the model too, even though its proportions are entirely unrealistic. I basically built this to test modeling.

I can’t seem to get the mouth to deform right any more. Before I rigged the rest of the body, it was just a mouth which opened and closed wonderfully. Now when I attempt to skin the mouth and test… well… it’s a fairly scary deformation.

riggin scares me to the bones. I haven’t tried it myself, but it may become a Christmas project. So I can’t help there.

Very nice model, I agree. Eyelids are hard to model… are you rigging those too?

Good luck!

The problem with the IK_Neck and IK_Spine bones flying off at weird locations is a parenting issue. Go into editmode on your skeleton and in the editbuttons, click Draw Names (this is just a personal preference, but it helps a lot when you are trying to change your skeletons).