network drives in blender and win7

Hello.

I am trying to open a blend file which is located on another machine. The folder is shared and from windows explorer I can reach the location without any problem. Inside blender thou, the browser do not show any network place. Even trying to copy the path in the blender browser I didn’t have success.

This operation works in OSX as I already did that on a mac. How comes in win7 is not working? Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance!

Hi!

I have the same problem?
Any one knows?

I personally work around this by creating symbolic links. A handy tool for creating these is the Link Shell Extension. Alternatively, you can map network locations as drives.

I have same problem, blender dev.team we are 2013 not 1996 wtf we need to work with mapped network drive, when we will have native network support for files:confused:

Hello everyone. I’m new to Blender & am loving it. But I’m trying to work with a team now & we have a local NAS to share information. We use Win7, & are wondering how we can access the network files using Blender.

I have tried mapping the network but that was a no go. I have no idea how symbolic links work exactly, but it seems to me that it shouldn’t be that complicated. I tried searching the net for answers but I have to say I am really surprised that there isn’t a clear answer anywhere regarding this issue. I think I saw somewhere network rendering, but not file sharing. Considering all the demo movies made by the blender foundation, I find it difficult that everyone was using their own PC. They must’ve collaborated somehow. :confused:

I’m not that tech savvy to be honest, so please excuse my ignorance in this issue. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you. :slight_smile:

Wow I totally forgot about this thread!