Network Rendering

Ahoy!

It appears that there are little topics based around the subject – or even containing – network rendering. I have read a little speculation about it on the blender3d site, but nothing except some introduction and, to my understanding, that it hans’t been implemented into blender just yet.

My question, however, continues. Are there any plugins that supply this feature? Furthermore, do such sites exist that may help me understand how to load network rendering into blender (i.e. because i’m no expert.)

I have had the same problem. I have wanted to do network renders, but I have not spent much time on it… I think, but am not sure, that they are working on a renderer. I have heard of Verse for Blender, but I think that is for like sharing files or something… don’t take my word on that… Otherwise there are different ONLINE things that are there own network that you can render your files from… but they cost A LOT…

This is what I think you are wanting: http://www.stuvel.eu/multiblend It is a plugin, I believe that allows you to do the network render for blender. I have not tried it much myself though.

This may also be of interest: http://www.blenderxgrid.com/

I had found this as well: http://blender.formworks.co.nz/farmerjoe/farmerjoe.html It seems to be a free renderer… still online, that does network rendering through there own network.

I believe this is one of the paying sites: http://www.respower.com/

Hope that helps… :slight_smile:

Aaron

Respower works quite well for a flat $40 fee. I just used them for a large project and no real complaints.

As far BlenderXgrid, It works with Macs, not so much with Windows based PC (using any of the Java based clients). I think that it would work with other Unix based systems since blender could be placed in the same directory structure as on a Mac. (Windows units connect to the grid, get the task, but then return an error saying it can’t find Blender)