New blender user - First product animation

Hey Guys,

New to blender, and looking for some feed back. I’ve spent 2 weeks getting up to speed on how to use blender, as I am an engineer by trade.

My goal was to produce some fly by animations for marketing material, so we can show case our equipment and have a really good look around at the details of the machine.

I realize this is a different style to what I see a lot of folks on here rendering, but I appreciate that you all have a eye for the aesthetic.

Any and all feedback is appreciated.

2 Likes

Nice start. :smiley:
If you want to improve it I think the most important thing to do would be the lighting.

However, this is not the easiest scene to light as it is relatively complex. You have the object itself, you have the background and then there is the rail which connects the object to the background.

It would probably be better to practice lighting with a relatively simple object without animation and then move on from there.

Thanks! It has been a lot of fun learning how to use the program, its really amazing. I have a long way to go before I really start maximizing its potential.
Starting to see the community around it, is also quite excellent!

You got me… I’ve been really struggling with the lighting. This animation was probably done 10 times, and this was my best attempt yet (I think?)
I’m struggling between showing to much, and not enough. Reading lots, and watching tutorials but having trouble optimizing it for the entire scenes, I get one small section optimized, but as I move around more it just doesn’t hold up!

For lighting I always suggest:

Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter by James Gurney
It looks like it is not for these types of industrial visualisations at all but I make most of my money with industry vis and this book helped me a lot.

Other good reads are photography books.
Andreas Feininger - The complete photographer
for example.