New to Blender. 2.79 or 2.8?

I am a beginner with 3D graphics and have only played with 3DS MAX for a few weeks. I am now more interested in Blender since it seems to do most of what the bigger apps do and I’m free to use it and sell work I create in the future.

Since I’m new to Blender which one should I start out learning on, 2.79 or 2.8, and why? I’ll invest in some training courses from Udemy this week but first need to know which version to learn on from scratch. Thanks for any advice.

1 Like

I would say 2.8 at this point. It’s more userfriendly and also it will released in july i think so there is no huge changes planed that could break things.

1 Like

Blender 2.8 is a beta that can crash, have bugs or advanced features that does not work at all.
As a new user that don’t know anything to 3D, you will not touch to advanced features and will probably not encounter bugs doing basic stuff.
Stable release of 2.80 is scheduled for this summer.

2.8 has a complete new interface with new keymap. Although it is still blender, users knowing 2.79 have to take time to retreive their marks in 2.8.
Currently 2.79 is stable release with advanced features working and available documentation.

For a beta, 2.8 have an impressive amount of addons and demos.
People are selling training courses although its UI is not stabilized.
There was a global topbar that became a topbar limited to editor area, last week.
A 2.8 build used for a tutorial produced, now, may show something that would be outdated in 2 months.
So that only make sense for people that will produce something interesting in the month they follow the courses.

For a new user with no 3D knowledge, it does not really make sense to invest efforts into learning 2.79.
But for same reason, it does not make sense to invest into courses for 2.8 before this summer.
You can take a look to online manual and free demos on blendercloud and free youtube demos until stable release.