New to Blender, vertex merging question

Hello, im quite new to Blender but have used a few other modelling applicaions. Played around with some 3ds max demos for a while but the limit has run out so im looking to learning Blender. I have watched many basic tutorials, mainly the video ones off the official blender site - very useful for starters like me however have come across a lot of other problems. Most of these I have found solutions for here so I only really have one main one.

When I mirror an object, or are trying to join two different sections to each other I can never get the polygons lined up exactly. I have seen this been answered about mirroring before - yes I do search around for solutions before just starting a thread. %| but I have mirrored two sides and cant work out how to merge nearby verticies. In 3ds max there used to be the command to weld nearby verticies where you could just set a limit to the distance they could be apart and then it would merge all the ones withing that distance in the selected area. I could go around selecting each of the verticies that need joining and doing it this way but that would take far too long to consider on more detailed models so im sure there is a way similar to this.

Thanks for any replies as im slowly getting used to this program but dislike finding little frustrations that get in the way of my progress.

One other small point, is there a way (as in 3dsmax) to once selected a current vertex is there a way to snap the cursor to other vertexes so you can easily join them that way.

Any replies will be greatly appreciated. :wink:

You should use the new mirror modifier (found in 2.40). It’s in Editing/Modifiers/Mirror. You can add many modifiers to mesh. They are very flexible.
When you want to turn the mirrored mesh real, hit apply in object mode.

Simplest scenario how to use mirror modifier:

1. Create a plane.
  2. Add mirror modifier (described above).