New to Blender

(Lady Syren) #1

While bored the other evening, I decided to conduct a search on google for free downloadable 3D imaging software to tinker around with and found Blender. I downloaded and installed it and find myself overwhelmed yet excited to play around with it.

I have bookmarked a few links to a couple of tutorials but I haven’t been able to find any information for two particular things.

1. After downloading some python scripts, how do I add it to the Blender program?

2. After downloading some models (think that’s what they’re called) where and how do I add those to the Blender program?

3. Are there any sites available that provide step-by-step tutorials to help a total newbie to get started? Are there any “Blender for Dummies” sites?

(scotths) #2
  1. There are a lot of great places to get started that I’m sure people will point out shortly. But I thought I would point you to a great beginner’s tut that TRexian recently did.

http://lowpolycoop.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=73

There’s a bunch of other ones there that we’ve done, too.

Scott

(RamboBaby) #3

Here’s an excellent tutorial to take you from beginner to advanced

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Blender_3D:_Noob_to_Pro

I’m not sure about scripts, but if you want to add plugins then scroll the drop down window (located next to the help menu at the top of the screen) to sequence [SRC:4-Sequence] and hit Shift A (while your mouse cursor is in the sequence window), and select Plugin. Then, Scroll to the folder where you unpacked the plugin, right click on your chosen plugin, and then hit enter. Go here for a COMPREHENSIVE list of compiled and uncompiled plugins and scripts available for your operating system of choice.

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~mein/blender/plugins/

Hope this was helpful

(Lady Syren) #4

Thanks! They’re all going to be very helpful. :slight_smile:

(celeriac) #5

G’day and welcome to Blender!