New To Blender

Hi everyone, my name is written so i’m assuming ou read it. i have spent a year prgramming dos programs in cpp and a fair amount of time writing algorithms psuedo-code and plotting uml diagrams.

a friend of mine introduced me to a number of libraries for graphics such as openGL and DirectX but they are all too tedios for a beginner so he told me that blender has an easier interface todeal with…

so i’ve been tinkering with the blender she gave me (version 2.62 I understand there are later versions) now i was learning the API.

i am totally new to everything here so all i ask is a list of refences and some pdf’s that might help me become a better game developer.

I want to be able to join teams and help out with AI and other aspects of programming…

thank you for your time

Welcome to the forums XN!TRO X

So are you interested in becoming a game coder, or an all-round game developer?
Actually, they’re not that different, as the skills are pretty much the same.

So first of you need to learn to do lo-poly models
Then you need to learn how to texture them
And finally you need to learn how to assemble them into a game.

These don’t have to be done in that order through.

About the BGE:
There are two main methods of ‘programming’ the bge. They are using logic bricks (a graphical interface) or using python code. For anything other than simple games, using python is a lot easier, and generally considered better.
There are several ways to learn python, you can look at tutorials, read the documentation or you can reverse-engineer existing scripts until you understand how they work.
BGE is a proper game engine, it requires a lot of work to make a decent game, if you’re looking for what we now consider a ‘normal’ game, it will take you around a year if you work only in your free-time.

Useful links:
tutorialsforblender3dCovers just about everything. Some is for old versions of blender, so buttons may be in different places.