new to blender

HI guys
Im afraid I need a little advice. I am new to blender and after looking around at various other softwares such as poser and Maya, this is the one for me (its FREE) lol lol. I have watched several video lessons from various sources to see if I can do what I want but seem to be a little bit at a loss. I did a 2D animation for my grandsons birthday and wanted to recreate the same character in blender which I think I might be able to manage. I was just wondering, before I start, what would be the correct way to go. my character is basically a cartoony avatar of myself wearing a baseball cap,glasses, hi vis jacket, shirt tie trousers shoes etc. Now my problem I have is before i start i was wondering if I need to model each clothing item seperately so i can put animation on these items. mainly removing the hat, glasses and wind blowing through the hi vis as i walk etc. I hope this gives you an idea of my needs.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am really excited at getting started on my new adventure and apologise for any pestering i may be doing in the future to get my project off the ground.

Thanks again

Woody

There are a lot of ways to do clothing. If you want to remove the glasses and hat, they will need to be separate objects. For the rest, most use the base body mesh as a beginning form for things like shirts and pants, then add as needed. The clothing is often a part of the same mesh as the character, with the character body masked, so it doesn’t show through the clothing. Flapping capes, jackets, long dresses, etc. can be animated by adding extra bones to the armature to move them around.

Another approach is to make clothing separate, and use the cloth modifier to let Blender do the drapes and folds and motions as the underlying character mesh is animated. This can look a lot more realistic, but sometimes looks odd on a cartoon style character.