new wikibook

I looked at the various tutorials around a found that they weren’t what a lot of people were looking for, so I started a wikibook on it. http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/3D_Graphics It is kind of problem that I’m not experienced enough to (probably ever) get it done. Thoughts? I’m very sure this is what the community needs, especially the beginners.

thats great!!! I hope you can get some help for it, :smiley:

A lot. I hope I will not sound too rude and please don’t take the following personally:

1. If you’re not experienced you probably should not start such a book. It would need pretty much of oversight to make a rational page of contents.
  2. Don’t count on the work of others. You have to do most of the work yourself. If you’re lucky it’s different, but most wikibooks have only a few authors (if more than one anyway).
  3. I may sound like a good idea to create a software independend book. But in fact you’re already relating to the things (modelling possibilities, material and texturing options, lamp types, …) that are possible in current 3D-Software, and probably only to the things that are possible in Blender. This is not bad per se, but you should be aware of that fact.

And now go ahead and prove me wrong :confused:

it takes experience to create what would be a complex section in the wiki. start simple then work your way up. One problem you will find is that many programs use different terms, for the same features. Also there are already many wikipages explaining almost every aspect of 3d both generalized & platform specific.
m.a.

I don’t recall asking for help. As for experience, it’s just that I never usually do animation, so that section wouldn’t get done.