Newb: Paritcle Laser?

Ok, I’m new to blender, and even newer to animating in blender. I’m still working on a project for work. I need to make a laser beam hit a missle and show the effects on the missle.

Right now, I’m working on the beam. Has anyone else used particles to construct a (large-ish) laser beam in an animation before? Are there any particular settings that you would recommend? I’m using a red halo setting for the particles, but they emit from the source plane in a very, flat, circular way. is there any way to fix that?

Thanks!

~Ashley

Here are a couple of tutorials
http://www.vrotvrot.com/xoom/tutorials/Welder/Welder.html

http://www.ingiebee.com/Blendermania/Lazer.htm

You can also check out the glow plugin.

Probably use a line (subdivided) with halo or a small cylinder with the glow plugin applied.

There is a video tutorial about using the glow plugin and the sequencer to apply the effect to individual objects.

There was a tutorial showing a phaser hitting Star Trek shields. That might be a good effect for the laser striking a missile. Maybe someone else can point to the tutorial. It used a spotlight with a limited clipstart/clipend to only illuminate the “shield” material at the impact point. You can color the light to match the laser and parent it to the end of the laser beam for an animation. Shape the “shield” material over the missile and make it slightly larger. Move it to a different layer and set the spotlight to only affect objects on the same layer. That can give you that sort of heat glow at the laser impact point.

I distinctly remember seeing a tutorial on how to do this, but I can’t seem to find it at the moment. So, I’ll write what I remember from it. Maybe someone will come along and post the link.

Since you’re new to Blender, I’ll try to be as precise as possible, but I assume you know generally what you’re doing since you’ve decided to take up a project like this.