newb render problem - model looks miniature

Hi, I’m a newb (a few months) and have been fiddling with focal lengths, atmosphere etc and just can’t seem to prevent my renders from looking like my model is a miniature. Could you suggest solutions please? Thanks

Attachments

It is because of your background picture… your 3d assets need to be bigger in frame to match the reference scale of the background picture. you probably need a shorter lens & push in more

THANK YOU, I’ll try that

Need more detailed textures. Gigantic white giraffe(?) doesn’t help either, it dwarfs that building.

The awnings are textures with a burlap, the brickwork is textured - maybe the cement walls? I haven’t textured them…

Looks like the relative scales of the objects are off too. Too big: bricks in the texture, chairs, leaves on the trees. Too small/low: umbrellas. We’re really good at picking up even small deviations in relative scale. It doesn’t help that real miniature models often have the same problem.

I would suggest getting your light and shadows under control too. The sun comes from a single source very far away. This looks almost like the key light is a point light directly above the model which is causing the shadows to cast outwards rather than uniform. This gives you that look of a model as it is a model with a light-bulb over it, rather than a building out in the sun.

The other thing is color, specifically the pavement color. Whether poured concrete or asphalt, it is going to be a very rough surface, an there is no light/shadow/color information there to suggest that (i.e. it’s too uniform).