Newbee confused Internal vs Cycles for wooden and mechanical objects.

I have read many posts discussing the pros and cons of using one render vs another, and I am still confused.

My work will be wooden logs, beams, structures and mechanical objects with wood, metal and rope materials. I would like to use procedures as much as possible rather than images. Some will be animated, like a crane working or a windmill operating. Photo realism is not a goal.

I believe using the internal will do all I need to do. But it seems like Blender’s emphasis is on doing fancy things with Cycles. I am also concerned that the internal render will not be supported in future releases of Blender.

If there is anyone who is working in this environment, will they please share their choice and reasoning.
Thanx,
Ed

I’m not a developer, but I do read the developer lists and try to follow what’s going on in the Blender dev scene.

BI isn’t going away. It’s not a priority for new development, but any regressions in BI get fixed. There have been some developers (including one paid developer) who have worked on BI in the last year to add new features.

Ton has stated several times that he wants developers to continue to work on BI. The problem is that it’s old tech, the code is ancient and crufty, and it’s just not “sexy.”

If photorealism isn’t a goal, I’d definitely go with BI, just because you’ll get crisp renders faster and with less effort. Since BI hasn’t been worked on that much since Cycles came out, the old tutorials and documentation are largely still relevant. The interface has changed, but the functionality is mostly the same.

There are three ways that you can approach it: OpenGL, BI, and/or Cycles.

I say, “and/or,” because you can in fact use more than one renderer to create a finished scene. (You can also use external renderers, but that’s another story.)