newbie: animating object colours

Hi, I’m new to blender and are struggling with protein structures. I created a string of spheres with 52 uv sheres. The colour of the whole string change in the animation whereas I only want one sphere to colour on its own. I did not group them, so I can’t figure out what’s wrong. Did I do something wrong in the duplication process of the sphere? I have changed the material button for each sphere to single user, but it still animates the whole string colour at the same time. Help please. I need to have this animation out on monday.

Try U > MakeSingleUser > IPOs .

thanx will do

jawra is right when you duplicate an object property gets duplicated as well. If it still gives you fits give each object it’s own property. Remember the naming convention too. No names with similarities.

here is a tutorail i made on it
http://www.vimeo.com/4208754

sorry waht naming convention. explain please. I have recreated the animation, creating each sphere by itself, it still does not work. now i can get each one to take its own colour, however the keyframing does not work . i do it with one object no problem. if i have more than one, it seems as if the program forgets what i did. I create a 5 spheres. in frame one i change sp1 colour to blue, I rgb, jump to frame 10 change colour again I rgb. go back to 1 and the colour remains the same as in 10. what am I doing wrong? when i check the keyframes, it is just not there? I created the animation in photoshop for client but will have to recreate in 3d soon. please walk me through it, I’ve worked on spoftimage and other 3d programs, however this interface is very different, and I’m short on time.

Hi
With my poor english I’ll try to help you.
Animate objects color one by one : add object without material and duplicate (Shift-D / Alt-D) or create new object(s) so they don’t have any material then add to each object new material.