Newbie espresso pot, please help...

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Blender, and after going through a whole lot of tutorials, I’m trying to model one of my favorite household items- my trusty espresso maker (see pic).

Starting with just the top chamber:

I have several challenges here:

1. The bottom (at the junction with the bottom chamber) is a cylinder, and just above it is a decagonal structure. Can I create one object by somehow merging the cylinder with the decagonal structure- or should I split them up?

2. The decagonal structure is somewhat rounded. Here’s what I tried:

• Adding a circle with 10 vertices
  • Extruding along the “Z” axis
  • Scaling the top decagon out a bit to create a slope
  • Subdividing all surfaces twice
  • Selecting the middle vertical vertices of each surface and grabbing towards the center, with proportional editing enabled

It looks ok- but here’s my problem- I want it to look exactly the same on each surface. I don’t think there’s a “radial mirror”- is there?

Thanks everyone for your help!

Ilan

Welcome to this forum

I don’t think there’s a “radial mirror”- is there?

Yes there is, it’s called the spin tool. I suggest you familiarize yourself with the different tools available. There is a good set of tutorials.
I had some problems following your description. It might be a good idea to post and image (rendering, wireframe rendering, screenshot) to bring your point across more clearly.

I would try to keep the parts as the same model but it would probably not be the end of the world if they were separate since this is a learning project. I thing is a good thing to try things out differently on your own; That is how you develop the ‘deep knowledge’ where you understand what you are doing instead of just repeating what others have told you.