Newbie in an attempt of learning..slowly giving up

Hello im new to blender and rendering and texturing , and i have a problem , first of all this is my last attempt of looking for help i have searched the web over and over trying to find a solution for my problem followed numerous tutorials but they all only explain how to Unwrap Cubes , which is not usefull to anyone.

I have a model of a radio , i have textured its pretty easy to do that :stuck_out_tongue: , I have followed a tuturial that made me join all the pieces togeather etc etc , but i do not understand people in tutorials show you how to select the edges of the cube , damn that cube … But i do not have a single idea how to select multiple edges of a more complex blend file , when i press a to select everything and then press U to open the unwrap menu the Unwrap option is greyed out i have no idea why , i would be very very greatfull if anyone can atleast send me a tutorial i have missed over the internet about unwrapping a more complex object… i will include the blend file so u can check it out for urself , many many thanks in advance :slight_smile:

radio.blend (587 KB)

When you unwrap in blender you unwrap faces. Opening your blend file, your model has no faces to unwrap, only edges.

Attachments

It appears your object has no faces. It only has edges and points. Faces are the surfaces that span between the edges. Without faces you can’t UV unwrap hence the option in grayed out.

Woah okay , thanks for the superfast replyes and it was pretty helpfull to know what was the problem but , but **** just got serious :open_mouth: , i just got this when i unwrapped my object and its a little different than a cube i think , could you direct me to a tutorial or something that shows the next step ? :confused: sorry if im being boring but this is clearly too complicated to be learning by myself :confused:

I forgot to post a a img with the post :confused:

well, for a start its not exactly a cube :slight_smile: