Newbie looking for help with her first models

Hi! I’m new here, and a complete newbie to blender/ 3D art/ cg/ sculpting etc… Just decried to dive into it a month ago since my work closed due to the corona virus, and I suddenly had plenty of spare time…! I find it all a bit intimidating and confusing, but I love it!

I did the donut tutorial by BlenderGuru, and after that, I’ve mostly been playing around with my own projects, and just trying to learn the tools. My first project was sculpting, retopologizing, Uv Unwrapping, baking and texture painting a Pokemon just to go through the process on something simple and low detail, before starting on something a bit more challenging. Here it is:

Any constructive criticism is greatly appreciated. The yellow bit on his tail is a bit funny, and even though i fixed it in texture paint window, it didn’t change in the render? Bit confused…

Still have to do the eyes(Do I have to Retopo the eysockets by the way, to create a “waterproof” mesh?), and then I’ll try rigging it.

My Second attempt is a realistic sculpt of an Arabian horse, and this has brought me some headaches… :sweat_smile:

I sculpted with multires, and want to add more detail, especially around the eyes, where the geometry just isn’t dense enough… I tried to subdivide the mesh again, but then the whole thing exploded, and the mesh looked like some kind of a sea urchin… why is this happening, and how can i fix it?

Is my attempt at retopo ok? Too much geometry? not enough? should it be more even? Do the loops and curves look alrightish? If anyone got some good retopo refs or tutorials for horses or other animals, I’d love to see them.

I know the sculpt is a bit wobbly and horrible in some places, and I will keep at it until its perfect, but right now I just want to try to do the whole process with what I’ve got, so I’ll det back to that later.

Also, in the render, it looks a bit weird and jagged in certain places, what happened there?

Arabretopofinished1