Newbie: My motorcycle so far

Hi there,

I am fairly new to Blender (though not 3D in general), and am using it to teach myself how to model. This is my first attempt at modeling anything. I am starting with a motorcycle wheel.

I’m not sure if I will finish the whole motorcycle as work will tend to interfere with my ability to sit at the computer all day long, but I’d like to get a fair bit modeled if I can. A few times I got stuck and had to ask a question on this forum and the responses have been overwhelming. I really appreciate all the help everyone has given me (as well as the kind souls who post tutorials on YouTube).

At any rate, here is the model so far. Critiques welcome!

Edit:

I’m going to post my latest renders in this first post as well as later on in the thread:

Edit 2:

I don’t know how to “delete” the images I originally loaded into this post, and I can’t post any additional so… I suppose I’ll just go back to adding to the end of the thread.

Attachments

Nice detail so far. Let us see more.

This looks incredibly good, would love to see a wireframe.

Thanks! Here are a few wireframes.

Also, this is my very first 3D model (beyond some simple sketchup stuff I have done over the years). While I have access to Maya and Modo at work, I decided to use Blender to learn modeling and so far I am very pleased that I did. I even showed my progress to some of the modelers at work and they were impressed with what Blender allowed me to do.

Of course, since it is my first model, it is taking me an INCREDIBLY long time to do. What you see here has taken me roughly 20-30 hours (and I have re-done chunks of it time and time again). I am hoping that by the time I am done with the whole bike, I will be a lot faster and more efficient.

Thanks again for the compliments. I took some screenshots of the wireframes (I turned off all the Sub-D surface modifiers… is that the best way to show a wireframe?)