Newbie Question Re: Particle Color/texture

Hi guys I’m new to blender have been watching tons of tutorials. What I can’t seem to figure out is I made a head with some hair particles coming out. But I can’t give the hair its own color how do I do that? Any time I change the colors the entire face/head and hair all change to that same color. How do I make the head one texture/color and the hair a different one?

Thanks!

You object need more than one material. In the particle render settings you select which material index you want to use for the hair.
hair_colour.blend (261 KB)

Richard

thank you very much! I will try this soon. But for now I have stumbled to a new problem I hope you can answer.

I am making a face. I have done half of the face starting with the eye and have shift-D duplicated it then flipped it so that it’s on the other side and now I want to start combining the two symmetrical sides at the nose. However the problem I am running into is even if I select both sides of the face in object mode, when I go into edit mode only one side of the face is editable and the other is not! How can I edit both at the same time so that I can sow them together at the vertices at the nose? Please help!

Woops, I t hink I just figured this out on my own! I had to sort of parent the new plane into the first plane under the “link and materials” tab…it seems to be working so far! I love blender

well a new problem now. Please see the pic. Even though it works now as I said, but one of the planes for some reason is not showing the subsurf smoothness. Why is that when they both are set to the same exact subsurf setting?