Newbie question: UV mapping and lighting

Sorry guys, I’m sure this is an easy question, but I can’t find the answer anywhere. I am new to Blender, and overwhelmed by half the stuff I don’t understand yet.

I have a very simple model of a house sitting on a plane. I modeled the house, and then unwrapped it to apply a UV texture map. But now, I want to setup some lamps and some shadows, and it won’t work. If I switch the view to Shaded as opposed to Textured, I can see the shading from the lamp. But the textures have no shading whatsoever.

I have a feeling this has to do with multiple layers of texture or color maps, where I need to add some layer that will react with the light, and that layer will combine with the base UV texture to create shaded textures.

I just have no idea how to do that. Your help would be greatly appreciated, as I am about to pull my hair out on this one!

Thanks,
Dave

Go to the Game menu at the top of the blender window and select ‘Blender GLSL Materials’. In textured mode you will then be able to see the lighting. Note that you have to have a compatible graphics card for this to work. If you don’t see any change then you’ll have to go back to shaded.

Well, that gets the grass ground plane to be textured, but now my UV wrap on the house is gone, and it shows a default-like material. I can apply textures to it, but they are applied to the entire house. Is there any way to maintain UV wrapped textures and get the lighting effects?

I should mention, I am doing this to create models to export to Flash Papervision, and I was hoping to bake the lighting into the textures, ultimately, and then export the baked textures and geom as Collada

Attach your blend file to your post or some other hosting site. How does it render vs the viewport?

Gimme a little … Blender crashed when I tried to change that GLSL setting to something different, and lost all my UV wrapping. I’ll have to redo it …

I think Blender has it out for me …