Newbie to Blender with mesh shading issues [solved].

Hi there - I’m new to Blender and this forum, though not 3d modelling. Hopefully I have posted this in the correct sub-forum, and I tried using the forum search, but couldn’t find the answer I was looking for - maybe I used the wrong strings?

Anyway, some background - I used to make cars for Midtown Madness 2, and then Racer, I used Zanoza modeller and 3DSMax. Then I met my now wife and let things slide for a while, but I’ve recently switched to Ubuntu and with it started to use Blender.

I digress, back to the issue - I imported one of my old meshes into Blender 2.45, and have been trying to sort out the smoothing etc.

I’ve attached a picture of my issue below.

My mesh looks okay in solid view, and renders fine, but if I switch to shaded view, or try to follow the radiosity mesh baking tutorial I found on this site ( using radio tools, collect meshes, etc ) things become a nightmare.

The front wings of the car, and although that shot doesn’t show it well also the Oscars and the doors all come out very messed up. All the parts I am having problems with were duplicated with Alt-D and mirrored on the x-axis.

I’ve tried recalculating the normals, and they are pointing where they should be, but it still won’t render in the shaded view, or radiosity mesh. the faces are set to single sided.

I assume that somewhere in my duplicating and mirroring I have caused this. I’m not sure how to rectify, and advice would be appreciated.

Attachments

Hi. Welcome onboard. Just a question: when you say “mirrored on the x-axis” I assume you mean that you used the mirror modifier, right? Because I don’t quite follow the ALT-D bit…