Newbie!

Hello all.

I must say that I am a little intimidated by all the good work here on these boards.

I am a Chef right now, and I am considering a career change into something I have interest in for quite some time. This leaves me with a few questions.

1. I would like to go to university in about 1 year. The program is a continuing education for adults, and you can apply for a certificate when you are finished. The two main programs are Maya and 3DS Max. I am very interested in the gaming circut (Who isn’t?) and was wondering if a certificate will even mean anything once I am finished.

2. Since I have a year until school (and a mortgage to pay :)) I have taken up Blender to get the basics for 3D animation and Modelling. I am not sure what aspect I like the most. I figure by trial and error I will find out what skills I am best at. Do you all think that this is a waste of time? Should I be concentrating on those other two programs?

3. I understand that the industy is pretty cut throat. I am used to this. I worked in kitchens for 17 uears. How hard is it to break into this field?

4. I am embarrased right now to post anything, as I just got through the modeling a stick figure tutorial in the NooB to Pro tutorial. I had a blast with that. Once I figured out how to extrude and grab faces, the modeling came naturally to me.

5. I am having trouble finding any books on the subject of 3D that are not application specific. Am I crazy, or do these exist?

Thank you for reading my ramble. I hope to become a contributing member you will all be proud of one day.

Cheers,

Sandeman

Hi!

although i am not experiences as many of the other members, i would say that going with blender is a really nice choice.

using blender is risk free, and using it will evaluate your ability to do 3d graphics (which isn’t really everyone’s thing).