NLA - Actions show up in "Main animation"

I’m pretty new to Blender’s Animation system (never bothered to REALLY learn it untill now…)

Why is it that when I create some actions (for armatures), they also show up in the NLA editor and in effect play back in my main animation? How can I prevent these actions from showing up in the ‘main animation’?

Please let me know if I need to be more clear…

thanks

dante

well im taking that they show the key frame not action strips. Anyway. Name all the actions in ACTION EDITOR and just keep making them until u have all the wanted actions made and named. Then go to NLA editor and select a action and press C to convert it to an action strip. Then jus delete the strip. if this doesnt help try explaining more but i think this is it.

thanks headcheese…works perfectly :slight_smile:

now a new problem…

Is there a way to copy only select points in IPO curves so I can copy and paste certain actions in an animation instead of the WHOLE curve?

thanks

now taht u would have to ask GreyBeard. Im not an expert on IPOs

No, you have to copy the whole curve (because the whole datablock is selected in edit mode and it won’t copy if you have some cv’s selected). But once you’ve copied it you can X some cv’s.

%<

The only problem with that is that I will need certain objects to have unique animations that are made up of smaller generic animations.

For Example: I have 3 balls. I create an IPO data block of the first ball rising, holding, then coming down. The second ball moves up higher than the first and then falls. I want to copy the IPOs of the second ball’s rising motion. So far so good. But what If I then want to add to that the rising IPO of the first.

Perhaps that was a bit hard to follow…let me know if I need to clarify.

Thank you for your help so far. I appreciate it!