NLA editor combination question

I’m just beginning to try to understand the NLA editor and I’m wondering if I could get feedback on what I’m thinking. I’m thinking i could make an action where I animate a character talking. Then make another action where, for example, the character is walking. So, then i take those two animations, layer (combine?) them together, and the character will be walking and talking at the same time?

Again, just looking for feedback, to see if I’m understanding this correctly. If this is an over-kill way of going about it, please, I’d like to know. Also, any foreseeable problems regarding what I mentioned above, I would appreciate it and really all the feedback I could get.

I’m looking to do a 2 minuteish video with lip-syncing, dancing, lots of movement. I’m posting because the alternative in my mind to using the NLA editor would essentially just be to have one long dopesheet absolutely crowded with key frames. Would I be wrong about that being the only other alternative?

No, that is also how I would go about it, as well. Remember to either Stash or Push Down the two actions you are waiting while in the Action Editor (Dope Sheet). Making new keyframes or manipulating existing ones is recorded automatically, so you don’t have to constantly Stash or Push Down.

However, when editing an action, be mindful that you’re editing the correct action, and not something like “Armature.action001”.

You probably already know this, but the numbers next to the actions indicate the number of Objects or Instances currently making use of that data. If it’s for a “0”, it’ll likely get auto-deleted on the next Close-and-Load cycle. That’s why there’s options like Stash, or Create Fake User.

Conversely, to delete an Action, just un-link it or make it so move of the Objects or Armatures are using the action. Anything with a “0” next to it will get auto-deleted later.

1 Like

thank you so much for the reply; it made my morning :slight_smile: