No manual selection when there's too many objects in the scene?

Hi!

I’m working with excessive amount (50k+) of individual models that need to retain their own values such as position, rotation etc.

My problem is that I’m unable to select them individually, they simply don’t react with so many objects in the scene. Either selecting them all (A) or via searching a name pattern. I’m not a beginner anymore, but I’m unsure if I can overcome this somehow or it’s a bug or what’s going on…

Are they all in the same collection? If not, did you try to hide some of them from the viewport to see if it works with fewer objects visible?

blender has hard time selecting objects among hundred thousands ones…
I guess it will always be like this till devs leave python for a real language :stuck_out_tongue:

The workaround is to use the circle selector ( C-KEY ) and select what you need. This one works fine. the box selector don’t work either on large selection among even larger objects and sometimes crashes the app. the use it wisely and think about saving every time before you use it in those cases :wink:

Happy blending !

3 main collections containing dozens of sub collections. Each sub collection contains several hundreds of objects.

Look who is again talking about Python. I swear I have missed your love for Python lately. :joy::joy::joy::joy:

You have done a pretty good job with the Ivy generator, though. :wink:

1 Like

Thank you, this circle selector seems to be working precisely!

Standard Box selection was also selecting objects outside of the selection. Lasso selection seems to be working ok. Standard circle selection seems to be also working. The only problem that left is inability to pick a single object precisely and to make it active. But I can work around it, unless someone has an alternative to this.

When I have so complex scenes I always disable the unnecessary collections to work with the necessary ones. That maybe could help you.

2 Likes