I think it would be much easier if we got a visual style of
scripting. Maybe it’s not possible to make big advanced stuff with
nodes. But for everyday scripting like when rigging, it could be a
really nice addition to Blender.
Today I tried to get the Z rotation of “Cube.001” to control the
local Z rotation of “Cube”. But I can’t see how to make it - there is
no option for local coordinates in the IPO editor. I assume I have to
write a script for this to work, but I’m no programmer. I think that
having the python API in a node based representation would be great.

What are your thoughts about this?
Have I made a fool of myself proposing this? :stuck_out_tongue:

Well, for your specific problem, can’t you manage with dLoc, dRot, dScale IPOs?

Node scripting: would it be needed if macro recording in Python would become available? With the present event/tool/UI refactors under way this is a clear possibility, although not a certainty if I understand what I read.

This is technically possible with the current API. It wouldn’t be too farfetched to implement this using Python, though it would ultimately be slower than even normal python since it’d be going through Python prior to hitting C, but still.

In theory you could draw the nodes with the BGL module most of the other stuff is pretty straightforward, that is except for finding somebody who has enough time/motivation to code it. At that with all the work put into making it in Python, it may be just as fast to use C and put in the source. At the same time, I might be sensing an idea for a SoC project (if anybody is interested).

I think with what the event refactor makes possible (not what’s coming at first, things like Macros and Custom keys and the like eventually) this could be more feasible like IamInnocent suggested.

Thanks for your reply.

Well, for your specific problem, can’t you manage with dLoc, dRot, dScale IPOs?
Sorry, but that doesn’t work . It’s still rotating in world space.:confused: