Noob driver question

Hi Guys,

I’m pretty new to rigging in blender, trying to find info on this without much look, might be lack of google skills.

I’m rigging a a character and was putting a couple custom properties on the IK handle on the wrist to have quick access to finger controls like curl, spread, fist, etc. It’s all good and gravy but it seems by controlling the rotation via drivers I lost the ability to fine tune the bone positions later on by hand if needed.

Normally in maya I’d have made a custom attribute, set driven keys for the pose, and still have the ability to animate each bone on top of that - surely there must be a way to do this.

Anyone any pointers for scenarios like these?

Thanks,

Dan

Hey,

drivers will occupy transform channels, much like connecting an attribute in Maya keeps you from editing it by hand. However constraints will create a virtual offset (when used in local space at least) which lets you further tweak the bone’s transforms.
For your case (fingers curl) I’d go with constraints since that kind of relationship can usually stay linear (only driver swill allow you to draw a custom curve). Of course you can always keep the drivers and create bone offsets manually - sometimes you just have to, and it works fine.

Hadrien

1 Like

I see. Thanks for the explanation!

Constraints would work fine for single finger curl, but it feels tricky to set up more complex things like making a fist with one custom attribute, and adjust the thumb pose later on if I decide to do so.

Maybe a way would be to set up a couple of pose libraries, seems one can set poses for bone selections as well.

I really need to watch more tutorials :slight_smile: