NOOB: How to make a box with a curved side

Hi,
as you can see I’m very new to blender. So probably I haven’t read all the information that is available.
Anyway, I’d like to build a box with a curved side (see pic) and I cannot find a way to do it (at least not without subdividing the sides of the box into many triangles).

I’m sure there are plenty of methods, if only I knew one of them. :frowning:

Select Your object which isn’t smoothed out, press W select Bevel, move your mouse around until it looks nice, choose the number of smoothness, then left click.

• noidtluom

You can cut it(Ctrl+R), like in your picture.

Easy peasy.

Add a Bezier Circle. Subdivide it once so you have 8 control points. Drag the 3 corner ones you want to be edges to align with each other on the grid (hold Ctrl while moving em).

With all 3 of the corner ones still selected, hit V, they’ll go sharp. Now delete the middle ones between the straight ones (ones with yellow control points between ones with green control points BAD unless alignment is perfect - non-coplanar points will make more faces on the edges.)

Finally shape the curved side as you feel the need, add more points, make silly architectural moulding profiles (sorry, inside joke - we’re obsessing on architecture lately)…

Anyway when you get the profile the way you like, extrude it.

Done, and no faces you didn’t want.

Hope this helps!

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/5663/curveextrude0by.jpg

hmm,
but bevel has two major drawbacks

1. it always works on all faces
  2. maximum of 4 iterations

thanks alot. i’ll give it a try. let’s see if it’s as easy for me as it was for you. :smiley:

hmm,
but bevel has two major drawbacks

1. it always works on all faces
  2. maximum of 4 iterations