[NOOB] Learning armatures for newbies

Hi,

I’m completely new to Blender, i’m old (41), so, i learnt modeling with 3dsMax.

I’m not ready to understand video tutorials because everything is based on keyboard shortcuts. I need to learn using the menus first.

Or, telling with more precision, i COULD learn directly with shortcuts, but i don’t like skip learning steps.

I’m looking for a tutorial based on menus.

Hi, yes blender is shortcut based but in newer version (i only tested 3.0) you can hit F3 and search for the operator. It will then tell you in which menu you can find it.

If you cant find it then you are probably in the wrong mode but that depends on the operation.
I dont have specific tutorials but with this you should be able to follow every tutorial when they mention the operator.

1 Like

Sorry, i’m stil on Blender 2.8. At now i only earn 900E / month so i don’t want to buy Windows 10. I think I should jump to Linux.

Hello i ve made a video about basic bones squeleton creation here:

i use 2.7x shortcuts in it. but it will learn you some really basic concepts
hope it will help

1 Like

You don’t need to be running Win10 to go past 2.8. See https://www.blender.org/download/requirements/ : minimum Win version is 8.1.

Even so, if you are running an earlier version of windows, you can still upgrade to Win10 for free (to my knowledge): see https://www.zdnet.com/article/heres-how-you-can-still-get-a-free-windows-10-upgrade/ (i just did a quick google, on the basis of stuff overheard.)