Noob loking for help

Hey there,

So I’m totally new to this and I’m looking for some very general help. I didn’t know where else to post so I figured this is the most appropriate place I can think of.

I’ve downloaded Blender and started dabbling with it; I’m still getting acquainted with the user interface :o. Without getting into my life story, I’m considering changing careers to get into 3D modeling/animation for video games.

But I’ve got no clue where to start, I’ve got a thousand questions and I don’t know where to post them… questions like:

1. How long does it take to get the skills to make something like this?:
    http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?p=1358964
  2. Once you’ve got those skills, how many hours did this take to create?
  3. What kind of academic training is required?

Anyways, I think you get the drift ;). Can anyone suggest a forum that is suited to these questions? Thanks in advance, your help is much appreciated.

N.B.: I’m in Montreal, at least I won’t have to move :).

Hi

I’ll do my best to answer your questions, while I’m waiting on my answer :).

1. Since organic modeling (ppl, trees, plants, animals etc) are the hardest things to model - a long time - lol. Really it depends on your skills as an artist, and how much time you’re willing to put into developing them.

2. The artist doesn’t say, but taking #1 into acct, again - it depends on your skills and how well you’ve developed them. I’ve been using blender now for about 9 months, still learning, and I wouldn’t attempt to copy that yet. If I did, based on my other models, it probably take me a couple days to get the basic shape and so on down. Then I’d have to learn z-brush as well because the artist also used that for the finishing touches and coloration. Realistic models - like that one - take a lot longer than general game models.