Noob question about animation process and set-up

hi all,

im new to blender (2.8) so please bear with me.

when Key-ing animation i got away with going into pose mode and select controls- insert keys from there. Recently i need to make more complicate animations where multiple external objects need to be positioned and keyed together. some weapons for example that doesnt belong to the character rig object.

Im sure professional animators have better ways of doing this,
ive seen controllers exist outside of the rig, is this just a rig setup thing?
i use Rigify so please enlighten me if it is. being able to select controls as individual objects would help a lot. (although i do find having separated edit mode and being able to go back to edit any time is really cool)

also how do we make drivers with external objects? (cos we do this a lot in maya)
for example have a circle or empty (outside of rig) that contains bars which you can drag
to change say character shape key or deform values inside the rig?

thank you again for reading,

0 Likes

(CYNIC78) #2

Drivers in blender 2.8:

0 Likes

very nice i shouldve goggled myself. sorry about that.

however my question remains, (cos the bone is still part of rig)
are all the controllers located within pose mode always?

what do people do when they need to animate moving or interacting with external objects (outside of rig)?
say grab door handle to open it or wield / change a weapon?

thanks!

0 Likes

(CYNIC78) #4