Noob question about problems with baking textures

First off, I would like to apologize for the dumb question. I am still learning how to use Blender, and trying to do something cool is how I learn to do things. One of my first real projects is modeling an airplane, as aviation is one of my big interests. Anyways, I was modeling a winglet, and was doing a simple colored texture bake so I could render some pictures for a blog i’m using to keep track of my progress. Anyways, the way one tutorial talked about simple textures is to give an object a colored material, then UV Unwrap it, and bake it, then apply that as the texture for the material(s). Well, when I did this, I ended up with a large black array on the winglets. [fig. 1]
So after some googling around the solution I came up with was to delete duplicate verticies. This…helped sort of. Instead of a big array of black, it was constricted to two rings. One around the top, and one around the bottom. [fig. 2]
Any reason why this may happen, and also how to fix it? The same thing is happening with the tail, as well… [fig. 3]
I know it is probably a really stupid question, but I’d really like some help on this.

–Patrick Gelvin

[fig. 1]

[fig. 2]

[fig. 3]

People are going to need something to work with. Maybe check the tutorial linked in my signature.

I’m gonna guess cause i’m not sure about what is causing your problems unless i can take a look at your blend file… That might be normals flipped. Baking with normals not facing the right direction might cause issues. You mentioned deleting duplicated vertices? Did you do this before or after baking? That can mess up your uvs.

I deleted the vertices before baking. Here is the blend file: Plane.blend (1.27 MB)

I’m really sorry, but I’m quite new to blender. I don’t really understand the links in your reply. In your picture it looks like you managed to have everything look perfect. Could you please explain to me what you did to get there?