*Noob* Rocket Modeling

Hi There,

I’m fairly new To Blender… Just working my way through Tutorials and slowly getting to grips with it…

I’d like to build a 3d version of this Rocket - what would be the best way to approach a shape like this? a Mesh Model ? Any suggestions greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

http://kierankelly.net/blender/rocket.png

A mesh would definitely be the way to go.

For anything mechanical, made out of parts like that, I would model all your parts separately and then stick them together by parenting them to something or by physically joining all the parts together (CTRL+J). That’s the way they did it in Elephant’s Dream, so it’s a sure thing.

Btw, I don’t know if it’s your server or something else, but your picture timed out a couple times before I finally got it to load. (And I think that was only because I opened it in a new link, which entered it into my cache. I think there might be some hotlinking problems.) If it’s giving you too much trouble, you could try attaching it to your post instead.

For the main body of the rocket, I’d start with a cylinder with several sections and taper it at the ends to gain the needed shape. The fins can then easily be created by tracing their shape (you can, for example, create a circle and move its vertices in Edit mode so that it resembles the fin shape), filling the shape by Shift+F and finally extruding to gain the needed thickness.

actually you could try the wine bottle (or the wine glass) trick… you trace the outline of the object with a line, then spin it… for the main body anyway… that’s how i would do it

I’d say tapering a cylinder is the way to go, making the fins seperate.
I’d stay away from Shift-F tho, it’s just a quick fill with triangles.
Or You could make loop cuts in a cube and just rearrange verts.
If you don’t plan on using subsurf then it doesn’t really matter.