Noob to Pro Tutorial

Hi all, thanks for reading this. I have a problem with a tutorial http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Blender_3D:_Noob_to_Pro#Table_of_Contents so far I’ve been working on my own and figuring stuff out by playing with tools. I’ve learned so much but the problem is that this tutorial is older than the version of blender I have which is Blender 2.56a which has proven to be quite time-consuming to find things out on my own since I have no past experience with tools such as Blender. Anyways, I’ve been figuring stuff out on my own and so far I’ve been doing great with few bumps here and there. The reason why am writing all this is because I’ve gone up to the part of tutorial where I have to make realistic mountains and in order to do so I am supposed to use fractals. Unfortunately I’ve been struggling for quite a while to find fractals, so am asking if anyone knows where I can find it, a detailed description or a screenshot would be nice. Have they been renamed? Any additional help or advice is welcome.

There still is a fractal button in blender 2.56. When you subdivide the object the button for fractals should be on the Mesh Tools column its only under the subdivide that pops up once you have subdivided it. Here is a picture if I am not explaining it very well.

Thanks a million. If I have any additional questions I’ll try to post them here or I’ll open up a new thread, I’ll try and keep it all here.

I’ve ran into another obstacle, where do I find belevel?

The bevel function has not yet been brought over into 2.56. There is a bevel addon (do a forum search) but you’ll also have to get a build that works with it. Try over at http://www.graphicall.org for a build incorporating the addons. You can just do it the manual way, a loop cut and scale.

Ok, so the tutorial is asking me to press K and choose Knife from the menu, problem is, K isn’t binded to any menu in 2.56a, how do I get to the knife tool?