noob windows xp install

i’m brand new to blender, but not to computers.

i installed Blender 2.49a on my (older) laptop
into the windows

Windows XP
AMD Athlon XP-M
1.2 Ghz 1.21 GB of RAM

Python 2.6.2 installed

When I start from windows, Blender
opens a command, which says:

compiled with Python version 2.6.2

Checking for installed Python … got it

Then when Blender window comes up, it temporarily shows a graphic with a cute

dodo bird monster or something and id for Blender 2.49a, the only other things

in a other things are little visual icons such as a little 3D axis icons etc,

some of these expand into more little icons, but the rest of the field is all

white and there are no frames or any text.

thanks!
:cool:

whats your graphics card/laptop model/overall system specs?
have you tried it on any other computers?

Does Athalon support SSE2 instructions?

it appears this shouldn’t matter for the regular build, as the sse2 optimized is a special build

http://www.blenderbuilds.com/2006/10/25/official-242a-optimized-windows-release-sse2/

atom: not sure what sse2 is, but my old comp had an old amd athlon 1.4 ghz and blender was fine.

paraphrasing from

http://www.mobiletechreview.com/notebooks/Averatec_C3500_tablet.htm

"Averatec C3500 WIndows xp Tablet edition

AMD Mobile Athlon XP-M 2200+ 1.66 GHz processor with PowerNow! 2.0 Technology and QuantiSpeed Architecture

32-bit processor is AMD’s first mobile solution for tablet PCs and Averatec is the first manufacturer to put this processor in a convertible tablet PC. It’s designed to take up less space and consume less power than processors for full-size laptops and desktop-replacement notebooks.

The Athlon XP-M processor has 640KB total cache (128KB Level 1 and 512MB of L2 cache) to enable improved multitasking and improved overall performance.

The graphics chipset used in this tablet is the SiSM741."

I have not tried it on another computer, this is the only one available to me at the moment