Noob with basic glow problem

I am currently working on a logo for my company and I want the text that I traced using bezier curves. (which has caused some other complications regarding a parot with multiple colors on it) I have no idea how to proceed on that one. Anyways my tracing is down pat and the logo looks great as far as that is concerned. My question is say I want to make the lettering green but with an orange glow. How do I accomplish this? I have looked at the vid tuts and other posts but I am a total noob and having some real frustration here.

Mahalo for all of your help on this matter.

Well, if you render with Yafray, you can make Lamps have a glow, just turn the color of the lamp orange. Put the light intensity down to about .1

I don’t know about anything else, unless you use the CVS build with nodes.

http://www.graphicall.org/builds/index.php

It would be the Plain CVS build.

“green with an orange glow” is too vague. Do you mean like neon, so the logo is green but there’s a hazy orange illuminated “fog” around it? Or what about like fluorescent lighting behind it, a backlit wall plaque or car with a undercarriage light effect? Et cetera.

I want the neon effect as you described. a green logo with a orange haze around it. thanks for the replies

Is your logo animated or still? if its still it would be easy to do post pro.
render just the part of your logo you want to glow. make it the color you want the glow and bright. use a black world and set the render output to RGBA and save the render in a format that supports alpha, I use .png.
Open your complete render in Gimp, photo shop or any other image manipulation program with layers. Add the render of the glowing part in a new layer and blur it. play with layer opacity and blur amount to get the affect you want. If the glow is obscuring the front of your text mask out the text part.
That might not sound easy but give it a try its an easy way to set up glow or with some changes DOF.