Noobie needs help

Hello BlenderArtists,

I am a student here in the Philippines who happened to propose a simple RPG for our thesis.

I was just wondering if how can my character teleports his way to another place?
Example:
Billy(my character) is inside the room, and wants to go outside his’ room. When he stood in front of the door, he would hit “Enter” key and he will be teleported outside of his’ room.

Can anyone tell me? or show me? or Explain to me? please… thanks.

Hello SJice and welcome to the BlenderArtists forums!

So your question:

You want your character to walk up to the door and hit enter which will teleport him outside. First I ask why don’t you just let him walk through the door to get outside instead of teleporting, but this is your game and your choices so I won’t argue with that. Just a suggestion. But if you want him to teleport you could do it like this:

Have 2 scenes. One scene is the room and the other is outside. When the character walks up to the door and hits enter, the game will load the “outside” scene, and the character will appear to have been teleported.

I hope this helps and if you don’t understand any aspect I will explain further.

One possible method is to use the scene actuator to change scenes from “inside” to “outside”. You would have 2 separate scenes and use the actuator to change them. Character position/orientation could be stored in a global variable if you need to preserve that.

Another way is to use portals. There are numerous threads/posts about this including a recent one in “Game engine resources” that you can learn from.

Scene changing is probably the best way to manage this in your case to keep performance high.

Good luck with your thesis. :slight_smile:

Edit: Beaten to it. :eek:

OMG! you guys are angels!