Noobs learning and blender 2.5 comming soon

I had someone pm about learning blender as a complete noob, and i refered them to the blender noob to pro wikibook when i thought about blender 2.5 coming out. The problem is there are not very many good beginner tutorials out for blender 2.5 yet and wont be for another few months.

With my experience i adjusted from 2.49 to 2.5 in just a few days, so I gave him advice to learn 2.49 from the wikibooks and then switch when he is comfortable with the program.

What are your guys thoughts on this? Its gona be a hard start for the new beginners out there who wont be able to follow many tutorials.

just learn 2.49, you can use that you learn

The conflict here is that there is no point in learning something that is not developed anymore.
But the actual new and better is not finished yet and has no newb tutorials.

I’d say to learn Blender 2.5, with you as the teacher :slight_smile: or Just wait… No rush…

While learning 2.5 / 2.6 directly would be best imho, as long as there are no beginner tutorials it’ll be rather hard. I think using 2.49 to learn the basics and principles of 3d would be be the best way to go until there are good tutorials for 2.5 aimed at the total beginner. There is no use in struggling to learn a new program with outdated tutorials, when the principles (how to model, texture, animate) are not bound to a version, it’s mainly the workflow and ui that differs, while understanding the way to model (topology, form etc), texture (uv layout shaders) etc are not application bound anyway.
I still recommend switching to 2.5 / 2.6 as soon as you (you being the general beginner) feel comfortable enough though, as 2.5 / 2.6 will be the way to go :slight_smile:

I hope that made sense.

best way to learn any software is just playing with it, clicking on things and watching things happen (including crashes). I’m now pretty comfortable with 2.5 just by taking that route. I’m also very used to 2.4 series…