Normal Map Baking produces strange results

so, I’m relatively new to blender but not to the industry. I’m attempting to bake a normal map and I am able to bake a test file, but my sculpted model refuses to play nice (it produces a UV map with some normal map data but not much). perhaps someone has some ideas as to this. I tried all the settings I could think of but again, I am new to blender…

extremely lost… usually I can find an answer on the forums or YouTube or the manuals but this one has me stumped… thanks in advance for any help
=)

it looks like you’ve baked flipped normals, have you recalculated them?

yeah, I reset them then removed the UV map from “Object Data Properties” and created a new one and ran the smart UV without stretch (its good enough for this simple model). still no luck.

maybe share your file? https://pasteall.org/blend/

sure. its larger then 24mb so here is the cloud link AUTOBOT_LOGO_01

thanks a ton, was not expecting such a quick response, super grateful

not sure what you mean by flatten then unflatten. won’t that then miss the edge data? also not sure what’s overlapping specifically, here is the uv

did you set the margin to 0px (was at 16 by default I think), is this not the overlap setting?

Sorry I was stupid about fatten, you just need to increase the Ray Distance. Yes your faces were overlapping, so it couldn’t bake properly, something like Ray Distance > 0.03 works, except as it is an object with angles you may need to paint a bit on the normal map in order to avoid some artifacts. Also the normal map seems a bit buggy. I’m going to dig a bit…

actually it is not buggy, your original object (called 1) is a bit shredded