Normal mapping on Macs

Hi all

I’m having major problems trying to do normal mapping on macs.

I can’t find any plugins or apps that generate normal maps from bump maps that will work on a mac except for the ‘NMG’ normal map generator, which I’m finding to be pretty useless. It only seems to except tiffs and generally fails to produce any useable results. The only normal map I’ve been able to generate from it is the default NMG logo.

If I then try to map this normal map to a basic cube inside blender, no sign of it shows up when I render, even though it is having a visible effect in the material preview (see the attached image). Can anyone tell me where I’m going wrong, as this is my first attempt at normal mapping and it’s turning into a real headache.

Also I was wondering how other Mac users manage to generate normal maps?

Thanks for any replies

Attachments

You just have to unwrap the cube; I guess it doesn’t work with orco coordinates.
The box in the left is uvmapped whereas the one on the right side uses orco in the map input panel.

Attachments

Thanks Sick, I’ll give that a go. Looks like you’re right.

Still… does anyone know how to get decent normal maps from NMG (normal map generator)?

So far I’ve tried using 512x512 and 1024x1024 images that are converted to greyscale and then back to RGB and also converted to 16bit and then saved as tiff’s. This doesn’t give any good working results though as the normal maps usually end up massively over scaled or something.

Still… does anyone know how to get decent normal maps from NMG (normal map generator)?

I generally paint a grayscale bumpmap version of the texture. I normally get a very usable result from that. Last I checked, NMG also took jpeg. If you save your file at a high enough quality, you should be able to eliminate most of the artifacts.