Not bad 4 my 1st project, so far, but...

(The first Wing Commander Hellcat V pic is from the internet; below it is my model. Actually, I started working from an existing mesh, but a very simple one; you wouldn’t recognize it by now.)

http://www.deeplayer.com/dan_w/hellcat/compare3.jpg

… but I’m a total newbie, and I don’t understand what’s going on…
For example, those little squares on the side of the body are actually cubes going across… I put two internal cuts near the ends and scaled up the cross sections of the cubes on the inside to get 45 degree sides. But they seem to be separate meshes, separate objects. I was working in split view, and at one point those separate objects disappeared from my right view. Poof, gone. Couldn’t see them on the surface, couldn’t see them in edit mode, couldn’t see them even in transparent mode; but they were still there on the left view, so I got rid of the right view before it might corrupt my file, if it was due to a bug…
Anyhow, I want to merge these embedded shapes with the main body; but I don’t know how. For boolean operations one is supposed to select the meshes to merge; but I don’t know how to “select meshes”. Could someone give me a keystroke by keystroke instruction, or point me to the right tutorial? TIA.

Select an object (outside of edit mode (tab key)) with the right mouse button. Hold shift and select multiple.

If you have multiple selected click CTRL-J to join them (or find the join function in your space-bar menu.

Allright! That worked. What I had in mind, though, was that where the meshes cross, vertexes would be created, and the stuff inside could be deleted. I believe that’s a boolean op? Boolean ops is what I was looking for in the tutorials.

If you have a recent version of blender (2.4) look for the modifiers… add a boolean modifier whilst the 2 objects are still sepparate.

The good news is, I figured out how to do boolean ops…