Of Multiple Node Systems and Render Layers

I’ve been playing with blender for nearly four years now. I JUST got into making things with the Node Editor. I think I have a good feel for how it works, but there’s a major problem I’ve run into.

I’m making a sea (well a sea of light), and there will be bubbles coming out of it. The sea requires a massive node system (Kirsch filters, defocus, etc). The bubbles require only a few. But I can’t figure out how to get more than one node system into the compositor. Is there a way to do that? Do I need to use Render layers? If so, could someone please help me figure it out?

I need one node tree for the sea, and another for the bubble, but they BOTH need to be there in the final image. Thank you all.

Each scene can have it’s own node system, I think.

You can use render layers to create different processing paths within a single node system as well. Perhaps having the terminator of each path end up as file output for later compositiing. Or end up as mix nodes for a final composite.

You can reference render layers from different scenes from another scene. So you can setup a scene just for the sky and another just for the sea. Then in another scene bring both of those render layers in and composite them together.

once clarification to Atom’s post: the Renderlayer brings in the pre-composite rendered scene, not the result of the composite from that scene. So if you composite in one scene and composite in a second, you can use the third scene only with the VSE to alphaover or mix the two.

You know. I know you guys are right. But I have no clue what you’re saying. I’m not a programmer, or anyone with great skills in computing languages. Everything I’ve learned about Blender I’ve learned through hard, hard experience.

So. . . .could you guys maybe explain in more dumb terms. Please? I don’t mean to insult your intelligence. I just learn things much slower.