Old brick wall with missing plaster. & Bumpmap via nodes possible?

I recently searched a way how to easily display a plastered brick-wall where some patches of plaster have fallen off or have been removed. In my case i needed 3 materials, the plaster on the outside (the one you normally see on a new wall), the rough plaster where the outermost one is gone but no bricks are visible and the bricks themself.

Since I saw the video tutorials on combining materials via nodes on blendernation recently and similar hints elsewhere I’ve found it to be a very quick solution once you know how nodes work (at least the basic stuff).

The “spec” is set a bit too high on the plaster and the grey stuff is a bit too … hm grey, but i hope you see where it’s going.

The texture for the bricks that is used was downloaded from http://www.cgtextures.com/ (bricks->small->‘bricksmall0228’) and the plaster materials are (rather crappy, since i’m not too good with that) modifications of some ‘matlib’ materials.
The bricks-texture is set to be tiling, but it is not seemless … would be a moot point since one can’t see the whole thing anyway :wink: No bump-map for the bricks.
http://static.flickr.com/94/249879271_63d0cf0250_m.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/249879271/

I’ve used one sun light and one hemi for this scene, no AO.

Now what i would like to know is if there is a way to directly use a single texture/mask (not a whole material) as a bump- or normalmap for the final Output here. Basically i just want the plaster to stand out a bit in relation to the bricks, so using one of the modified masks will/should works as a bumpmap. Any ideas are welcome.

Any suggestions to improve the overall look are welcome as well of course :slight_smile:

Werner