old dusty room

(adyus) #1

I gotta tell you, when I first saw this site and the works presented here, i was dumbstruck. Such realism! Well, I certainly can’t compare to anything presented here, but at least I’ll try! Please keep in mind that I’ve only been using Blender for about a month or so. I am also a junior high school student, so my blending time is extremely limited. Anyway, I’d like all the help I can get to make my work better.

Here it is.
http://adyus.0catch.com/olddustyroom.jpg

or

http://adyus.0catch.com/olddustyroom.jpg

(paradox) #2

Very good for a new user of Blender. Suggestions, change the camera angle a bit the vase kind of looks like it is hanging off the edge of the table or on the floor a change in camera angle by just a little would fix this. The window on the left where the light comes from looks kind of low.
And the dust particles look a little big kind of looks like snow in the room.
These are suggestions for improvement not critcisms over all a very good effort. Keep it up.

Paradox

(adyus) #3

thanks for the suggestions, I’ll try to implement them. The vase was supposed to sit on the floor, but you’re right, the camera angle DOES change that. The snow, er, dust is a little too linear on the floor, you can almost “see” the emitting vertices. Any idea how to fix that? One thing I’m really weak at is texturing my models. I can never seem to find the right texture. Also, it lacks some certain realism. Any suggestions on how to improve realism?

(digitalSlav) #4

how are the backs of the windows lit? if the wall is pitch black so should the backs of the windows. everything has a sense of reality until it comes to the texture for the windows. you either need to add a small amount of light to light the black wall or make your windows black.

this will improve the image greatly :slight_smile:

keep em coming.

(Eric) #5

It seam to lack shadows for everything except from the windows. Fix that =)

(paradox) #6