old warehouse

Hi, I’ve just discovered blender recently (about 3 months ago). While I’m interested in eventually learning how to create animations, at the moment I’m focussing more on modelling. Hence the warehouse. This model is based on a warehouse I chanced upon while out walking. I’d love to get some feed back on ways I could improve this. One thing that bothers me a bit is that the face count is over 700 000. Probably 99% of that is in the roofing as it’s all curved, I realise this isn’t optimal but the attempts at using a flat plane with bump mapping didn’t get the desired result and I don’t have any other ideas for how a realistic corrigated iron roof can be done.

Attachments

Bumpity, bump!

I am new to blender and finding it a fantastic challenge and really enjoyable to try and replicate real world obects in virtual space. I hope to one day make animations telling stories about life with mental illness - however, first I think I need to learn to model.

I would really appreciate any feedback - positive, negative, whatever. I want to know what you think - it is the way I can learn.

I tried to upload the .blend file (8mb) but it failed, even when I .zipped it.

Thank you - If you need more info, please ask, I will answer.

It looks good, pretty accurate.

A couple of details you left out, though. There’s that wooden thing on the left between the top and bottom rows of windows. And maybe you could do that stenciling on the bricks?

But overall, the form seems dead on and you’ve got some nice textures happening there.

Just so you know, for some reason, most people on this forum don’t comment on works in progress. Instead, they wait until you put it in Finished Works and then give you the critique you were expecting in Works in Progress. Don’t ask me why; that just seems to be the way it’s done around here.