Open a Door ( And not close it again)

Hey, i’ve made another post/thread about a door opening thing…

I have an First person view game with movement, and camera, flashlight, and stuff.

I added a door, which i’ve been trying to make so you can open and close for a pretty long time :confused:

On my prev thread, i asked about some help with opening and CLOSING a door, but i’ve decided, that i just wanna be able to open it, and not close it again.

I have a door with the property : door

and a player with the property: player

Now, also i only wanna be able to open it when im near it, not standing across the room and open it… :confused:

Thats been the hard part…and im kinda new to blender ;(

Well, if you have any ideas, please post them :slight_smile:

(PS. i havent found any tutorial on this)

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Try using a collision and keyboard sensors on the door.

Collision with property player and Keyboard key pressed = door open

Attachments

DoorOpen.blend (79.5 KB)

Wouldn’t you want it so that if you clicked the door it opens, and when you clicked it again it closes?

Anyways, there’s a ton a ways you can achieve this, the easiest being with an IPO and, of course, python. I’ll make you a quick example.

Basically, we need to grab the objects that are near the player object, and the easiest way to do that is with python. I won’t explain the code (because you just said you’re a beginner) so I suggest you look up some python tutorials because making an FPS is freakin’ impossible without the flexibility of coding.

So here’s the example,
WASD to move.

door_example.blend (443 KB)

I’ve made it very simple for you, so you can use it with no python skills at all.