OpenFX support for post processing

Hi,

I plan to do a quick film project. I want to edit video and add some effects using Blender. I noticed there was nothing in Blender to help with noise removal in the live action footage. Support for commonly used operations like salt and pepper removal seems like a very useful addition. I believe a plugin framework for post processing, called OpenFX, can help.

Other commercial visual effects software support OpenFX so its users can leverage OpenFX plugins. Since these OFX plugins are intended to be leveraged in different applications, is there a reason not to support it in Blender?

I am also a developer. One of my interests is in image processing and I would enjoy contributing this feature. Before I get started,

Is the Blender Foundation open to adding support for OpenFX?

Do you have any tips before I get started writing the code? What is the best way to support it? Should I treat it like a ‘renderer’ or just a new compositor node? Sergey pointed me to an article about adding new compositor nodes.

I definitely plan to segregate the new support using the traditional techniques that I see in the Blender source and build systems. You will be able to turn it off if you do not want it.

Thanks!

best is for compositor or sequencer
ask ton about this. he can help you

Major issue is that Blender doesn’t have framework to deal with temporal assets (changes to the image over time). Where the most successful noise reduction requires you to compare previous frames Blender cannot do it.

I wish you all the best as this is a feature Blender really needs.