Opensource goodies....?

Ladies and Gent’s,

I am fairly new to Blender and am amazed at the power of the application. Since downloading it I have come to love the opensource idea.
I have now downloaded Icarus and plan on downloading Gimp as well.

My questions is (and I have already browsed this forum)

1. What is a good opensource non-linear video editing software, if there is one.?
  2. What is a good opensource audio program for adding audio to movies…I have Audacity but not sure if it can do that.
  3. Is Ubuntu Studio a decent OS for digital artist. And can you run it on as a secondary OS on a WIN XP system by partitionong the disk. If this is true does the the platform remain stable and are there many compatibility issues with hardware and Ubuntu?
    Sorry if this got double posted…

I’m not sure about all you just mentioned but here is a site that contains quite a variety of open source programs. You may also want to look into Voodoo or Icarus for a camera tracker (compositing live action footage with 3D animations) - if you are interested.
Here’s the site.
http://www.digitaldarknet.net/thelist/
Not too sure about your other question…
Good luck!

As far as Ubuntu is concerned, you can actually run it on a Windows machine without having to partition your disk. It’s quite a cool feature - you install it in Windows, just like any program. Then, at boot up, you get a choice - Windows or Ubuntu.

And if you decide you want rid of it again, you just uninstall in the usual way. They say the performance won’t be as good as if you installed it on a partition of its own, but I’ve tried it out of curiosity and it works fine.

It might be one way of seeing if Ubuntu works for you.
(Ubuntu Studio is basically just Ubuntu with a particular theme and some software pre-installed. It’s easy to turn a vanilla Ubuntu into Studio.)

1 and 2 can be easily covered by blender using the sequence editor.
You could also try Cinellera or kino