Orange "Phantom" Lines

Hello, Advanced beginner here; first post to Forum. Having issues with deleting part of a mesh that is highlighted in orange (see attached). I don’t know what the orange lines represent - bevels, creases, or how I inadvertently I created them? Also, you’ll notice there is one face highlighted on one side which I’d also wish to delete. Thanks in advance!

Kevin

Attachments

I can only guess without your file, but that looks like a separate object that is selected but not active, and has edges with the face deleted, just like the part in the active object. To delete a face select it and press X. To select a face select all the verts or edges or the face dot depending on which mode you are in (see the 3Dview header)

You may not know that there is a manual online that deals comprehensively with these beginner’s steps in Blender. Link.

Do not crop window - show as much as you can, including relevant parts of interface. Here that would be Modifiers tab, Outliner window on selected Object and so on. Read about HowTo and Why
C
ould be something duplicated.
To delete that extremely narrow face on the right in image ( i do not see any selected face but i see black square on the edge) delete double vertices and adjust Merge Distance value on Toolshelf bottom part right after you W - Remove Doubles.

I think that’s a vertex where it shouldn’t be (vertex mode view)…

Could be vertex as well… Need moar spectacles :D.

Anyhow - where’s the file? Or link to it on pasteall.org?
If rules do not permit direct link in text - type it without http part. We’ll figure.