Orbiting View Issue.

Hello, I am new to Blender (I learned the basics of 3d modeling years ago on Wings3d and have practiced what I had learned since on that same program). In getting started with Learning Blender’s interface I have watched some videos from various sources.

There is one part i am constantly getting hung up on, though. And that is; that when I go to click/click-hold the middle mouse button, and drag my cursor in order to orbit the view…nothing happens. I play a few MMO’s so I know my wheel is working correctly. This leads me to believe I may not have something set up right in the user preferences. I hope some one can help me with this, using those numpad keys all the time just does not feel the same.

[edit posted below with additional information I realized may be needed]

I am using a desktop pc, running windows xp service pack 2, and my mouse is a ‘Microsoft: Comfort Optical Mouse 3000’…this mouse has a red forth button on the side, in addition to the two mouse buttons and lockable wheel…I do not know what this red mouse button does. I have tried clicking it under some different circumstances and it does not seem to really do anything (either it’s function is very specific, or it ends the world and I just don’t have the right launch codes to go with it).

[additional edit/note: I just tried another mouse and still nothing doing with the wheel/orbit deal.]

[update]

Turns out the other mouse I tried had a broken scroll wheel (neither worked on my laptop as external mouses either)…isn’t that great. but that was due to just being old and worn. As for my new mouse with its issues…